State CME Requirements

Louisiana CME Requirements 2022

Louisiana MD and DO physicians, you can fulfill your state CME requirements today by watching the GIBLIB videos listed here.
All

Each state has its own state CME requirements to fulfill – some depend on the amount of CME you earn, others center more on your educational hours. It can be hard to keep track. Louisiana requires CME has to be pre-approved by their board and requires questions be answered. And trying to keep track of all these requirements may be tedious for you.

Learn what your requirements are below.

For both Louisiana MD and DO physicians, you’ll need to fulfill the following:

“20 hours per year; all must be Category 1. Effective January 1, 2018, all licensees with a CDS license are required to complete a one-time, pre-approved 3 hour CME course on drug diversion training, best prescribing practices of controlled substances, and appropriate treatment for addiction. Additionally, licensees are required to complete a one-time board orientation course to acquaint new licensees with the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, the function of the Board and its rules, opportunities available in rural and professional health shortage areas, etc.” – FSMB

  • CME Credits Required: 20
  • Term(Years): 3
  • AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™ required: 20
  • Required Topics: 3 credits drug diversion training; 3 credits prescribing practices for controlled substances; 3 credits addiction.
Watch Video

ABOUT GIBLIB

GIBLIB is the premier streaming service with a vast catalog of unrivaled continuing medical education content covering surgical videos, medical lectures, courses, and transcripts. Learn from the world’s best doctors, from the top leading institutions, including Mayo Clinic, UCSF, Cedars-Sinai, Keck Medicine of USC, and many more.